All of the continental U.S. is now considered high risk for COVID-19 by Massachusetts public health standards.
State officials announced that starting Saturday, people traveling to-and-from Vermont will need to quarantine or get tested for coronavirus.
Vermont marked the 48th state to be added to the high-risk list. The current list of lower-risk states only includes Hawaii currently.
Gov. Charlie Baker enacted a travel order on August 1 mandating all visitors and residents entering Massachusetts following a high-risk area quarantine for 14 days or produce a negative COVID-19 test result that has been administered up to 72 hours prior to arrival in Massachusetts.
Visitors are urged to obtain a negative result before traveling to Massachusetts.
Failure to comply with the order could result in a $500 fine per day.
Exemptions are allowed for travelers from lower-risk states, people commuting for work or school and patients seeking specialized medical care.
Massachusetts residents are urged to limit any out-of-state travel only to states designated as COVID-19 lower-risk areas.
Anyone arriving from an international destination must fill out the Massachusetts Travel Form and must quarantine for 14 days or meet the 72-hour testing rule.