Massachusetts is taking Vermont off its “lower-risk” travel list after midnight on Saturday — effectively expanding the Bay State’s travel restrictions to all of New England.
Travelers to and from Vermont — including Bay State residents — will now have to fill out the Massachusetts Travel Form and quarantine for 14 days unless they have a negative COVID-19 test result from within 72 hours of their arrival here. Those who don’t comply could face a fine of $500 per day.
Vermont was the last New England state to be exempt from Massachusetts’ travel restrictions after Maine and New Hampshire were taken off the lower-risk list last week by the state Department of Public Health.
The only state still designated as lower-risk is Hawaii.
Exemptions to the travel restrictions include people crossing state lines for work or school, those seeking or receiving medical treatment, military personnel, those providing “critical infrastructure services” and people merely passing through Massachusetts en route to other places.